AVA Awards Program



The Australian Veterinary Association recognises service to the association or the veterinary profession through a program of awards and prizes.

Gilruth Prize - AVA's most prestigious award. It is awarded to members and non-members for outstanding service to veterinary science in Australia. Unsuccessful nominees from the previous two years are automatically included in the nominations put forward for judging.

Guidelines | Nomination form

Kesteven Medal - Awarded to members for distinguished contributions to international veterinary science by providing technical and scientific assistance to developing countries. Unsuccessful nominees from the previous two years are automatically included in the nominations put forward for judging.

Guidelines | Nomination form

President's Award - Awarded by the President and the AVA Board preferably to a veterinarian who makes an outstanding practical contribution to veterinary science or practice in Australia, especially during the preceding five years.


Fellow Awards - Awarded to members for outstanding service to the association.

Guidelines | Nomination form

Honorary Membership - Awarded to eminent non-veterinarians for services to the AVA or the veterinary profession.

Guidelines | Nomination form

Meritorious Service Awards - Awarded to members or non-members (who are not eligible for membership of the association). The Meritorious Service Award recognises special or long-term service to the AVA, its divisions, branches or special interest groups.

Guidelines | Nomination form

Kendall Oration and Medal - Awarded when the AVA Annual Conference is held in Canberra or Melbourne to commemorate the occasion.


Don Kerr Veterinary Student Award - Awarded to a final year veterinary student from one of the veterinary schools. This award recognises academic achievement and exceptional commitment to cattle medicine.


AVA Student Awards - Awarded to student members of the association who through their academic work and participation in student affairs are considered to be an asset to the student body and potentially an asset to the veterinary profession and the association.

Seddon Award - Awarded for meritorious contribution to Veterinary Science in NSW. The prize was first awarded in 1967 as a means of showing appreciation of the great service rendered to the profession by the late Dr Herbert Robert Seddon. Dr Seddon was a foundation member of the AVA and held the position of president from 1929-31. He graduated with honors from Melbourne University in 1913 and served in the Australian Army Veterinary Corps in 1917-1919 as a veterinary officer with the rank of Captain, assigned to a camel brigade in the Middle East. After the war, he wrote six volumes on Diseases of Domestic Animals in Australia. Dr Seddon was renowned for his work in veterinary pathology and bacteriology as both a lecturer and researcher.



Nominations for awards should be made in writing to the AVA Awards Committee c/- Miss Peta Bortfield either in writing to the AVA National Office or via email.  Nominations can also be done via your division or special interest group.  Please refer to the Award Guidelines for more information on eligibility for each category. 

Anyone can make a nomination, however there may be some exceptions. 

Award winners are announced and presented with their award at the AVA Annual Conference. Some student awards are presented by the AVA at university graduation events.


More information

For more information about the award categories or deadline for nominations please contact the AVA.